Lekki port terminal : NPA senior staff union warns against victimisation of workers

Prince Adewale Adeyanju

Spread the news

Lekki port terminal :
NPA senior staff union warns against victimisation of workers

Inaugurates 12-member district executives

Prince Adewale Adeyanju; the President General of MWUN 

The leadership of Senior Staff Association Statutory Corporations and Government Owned Companies (SSASCGOC), Marine Branch has warned against victimisation of workers at the Lekki Free Trade Zone Port Terminal

The Union, while pledging it’s support for the management of the terminal, promised to defend the organisation.

The President of SSASCGOC, Maritime, Comrade Akinola Bodunde made this known, at the inauguration of new Executives of the Union at Lekki terminal.

He said; “The essence of inaugurating the Union in the terminal, is not to witch-hunt the management but to enhance efficiency at the facility”.

He words, “We did not come here to fight the management. Rather, we are here to partner with you, so that things can be done the right way.

” Unionizing our members here aimed at increasing your productivity. The era of banging tables is over.

“I promise that you will see the best of your workers but what we will not allow is victimisation of workers

“Our priority is the progress of the organisation. The Union will stand by the management and workers. We are ready to defend the organisation”.

Speaking further, Comrade Bodunde warned the new Executives against greed, selfishness, victimisation and sentiments.

He emphasised :  “To the Executives, we won’t tolerate greed, victimisation and sentiments. Your priority is how the job will move forward. As Executives, carry everybody along”.

Also speaking, President General of the Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MWUN), Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, said both Unions work in harmony.

Comrade Adeyanju, who doubles as the Deputy President of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and represented at the inauguration by Harry Tonye, Deputy President General of MWUN, explained that the Union is not out to fight the management but to help it grow and make the organisation efficient.

His pointed out;  “We will ensure that we nurture the project to maturity. We will not allow victimisation of workers.

“You have to cook a good food for the workers to be able to deliver efficiently. If you don’t cook good food and we have to cook for you, you will not be able to eat it.”

However, he admonished the new Executives to carry the workers, Union and management along in whatever they are doing.

He implored them to adopt dialogue over banging of tables as means of negotiating with the management of the organisation.

In his remarks, the Chief Executive Officer of LFT, Mr. Yann Magarian stated the resolve of the terminal to work with the workers.

He promised to adhere to the rules of engagement as contained in the labour laws, saying, “We will do things together.”

In the same vein, Fubara Awanta, General Manager/Head of Government Relations of LFT, assured the Union of cooperation with the management.

He stressed that the good relationship between the two bodies would be sustained.

The Human Resources Manager, Ibiso Eteh, also promised that the management would treat the workers well.

She said, “We are here to support you. We will cook the right food and serve it round. I know the staff will give us their best”.

In his acceptance speech, Henry Folorunsho, the Chairman of the newly inaugurated District, sought the support of the Union members and that of the management, even as he promised to uphold all the expectations of his office.

“I am very happy to work with you and we expect the management to cook well for us,” he enthused.

The new Executives include; Henry Folorunsho – Chairman, Ugochukwu Eze – Vice Chairman, Lolo Eneibi Enefa – Secretary, Mohammed Kaluwa –
Assistant Secretary, Dayo Areh – Treasurer, Ekomobong Iniedu – Assistant Treasurer, Omiete Harcourt Whyte – Financial Secretary.

Others are; Emmanuel Okpudi – Assistant Financial Secretary, Damilola Akinwande – Women Leader, Olajide Ayeola – Ex – official, Ibim Biobeleme – Ex – official, Chinedu Mgbonta – Ex – official.

error: Content is protected !!