Constitution Review : Lagos NUJ sub-committee submits report

Spread the news

Constitution Review :
Lagos NUJ sub-committee submits report

In line with the terms of reference, the sub-committee on Constitution Review inaugurated by Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos State Council under the leadership of Mr Adeleye Ajayi, has submitted its report to the Council.

Most commendably is the fact that the sub-committee finished its assignment and submitted the report promptly on Wednesday within the stipulated time frame.

Speaking during presentation of the report to the Council,
the Chairman of the committee, Mr. Slyva Okereke informed;
“Just last week, the leadership of Lagos Council inaugurated a 7-member sub-committee to thoroughly x-ray the NUJ constitution and make recommendations that will better the Union at large.

“The sub-committee met repeatedly, in order to work towards achieving the mandate before it within the time frame.
We have seriously carried out the assignment given to us. I can tell you that each meeting we met to discuss lasted minimum of four hours”.

He added; “Some members of the Union outside the committee also gave rich inputs that made us achieved a report that will stand the test of time’.

Speaking further,
He appreciated the Council for the confidence reposed on the committee for such important assignment.

In his remarks, Lagos NUJ Chairman, Mr Adeleye Ajayi applauded members of the sub-committee for a job well done.
His words; “We made no mistake in selecting these individuals for their vast knowledge and experience in NUJ affairs. I am proud of you all and I can assure you that this is the begining of your assignments for the Council”.

Ajayi also commended other members of Lagos Council for their robust contributions towards achieving a comprehensive report, which will be forwarded to the National constitution review committee headed by Mr. Dele Atunbi, the National Treasurer of the union.

Other members of the sub- committee include: Mr Sadiq Martins, Mr. Olisa Egbunike, Mr Edwin Nwachukwu, Ms Jemi Ekunkunbor, Mrs Adeola Ekine and Mr.Alfred Odifa.

About Post Author

error: Content is protected !!