Constitution Review : Lagos NUJ inaugurates 7-member sub-committee

Spread the news

Constitution Review :
Lagos NUJ inaugurates 7-member sub-committee

* Urges past Chairmen to make inputs

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Lagos State Council has inaugurated a 7-member sub-committee to critically review the present NUJ Constitution.

The Council also called on past Chairmen of Lagos NUJ to make necessary inputs that will form part of the documents.

The sub-committee comprises of experienced and seasoned Journalists in the media industry.

Members of the sub- committee include: Mr Slyva Okereke, Mr. Sadiq Martins, Mr. Olisa Egbunike, Mr.Edwin Unwachukwu, Mr.Alfed Odifa, Ms Jemi Ekunkunbo and Mrs Adeola Ekine.

Speaking at the official inauguration of the sub-committee, Lagos NUJ Chairman, Mr. Adeleye Ajayi informed that the Council carefully selected Journalists who are well exposed to NUJ affairs to handle the task.

He said; “We are here to inaugurate a distinguished 7-member sub-committee and those we have chosen are persons that are vast in NUJ affairs”.

“The task before the sub- committee is to carefully study the NUJ Constitution and make healthy recommendations, which will be submitted to the national Constitution review committee under the leadership of Mr Dele Atunbi, National Treasurer of NUJ..

Ajayi pointed out; “Lagos is where it happens because we have no fewer than 10,000 Journalists in the State, hence, we expect the best from this distinguished members, who are people of timber and calibre.

“I am appealing to the sub- committee members to swing into action as the report is expected in one week”.

More so, a National Constitution Conference of the Nigeria Union of Journalists is slated for January, 2022, where councils’ representatives will be invited to a roundtable.

error: Content is protected !!